What's the benefit of synthetic?
Display Avatars Sort By:
Jim Colten
(jcolten) - M

Locale: MN
Re: Planned use: Down Sleep system + VB on 09/24/2007 03:09:40 MDT Print View

I have no first hand experience with it but there's WarmLite's "Fuzzy Stuff" fabric. www.warmlite.com

Richard Nelridge
(naturephoto1) - M

Locale: Eastern Pennsylvania
Vapor Barrier Clothing on 09/24/2007 06:41:42 MDT Print View

Hi Sharon,

Stephenson's Warmlite makes reasonably priced vapor barrier clothing with fuzzy stuff lining which helps to absorb much of the perspiration and makes the clothing more comfortable against the skin.

Here is a link:

http://www.warmlite.com/vb_shirt.htm

Here is their pricing page link:

http://www.warmlite.com/prices.htm

Rich

Michael Davis
(mad777) - F

Locale: South Florida
Re: Overbag on 09/24/2007 10:53:37 MDT Print View

I have considered this idea of a synthetic quilt over a down bag in the past. The theory that prespiration vapor might condense in the synthetic vs the down is quite plausible. Though the results would vary in fact given specific circumstances of temperature and humidity, this system should improve one's chances.

I've considered the disadvantage of this system to be the extra weight and bulk caused by 1. synthetic insulation and 2. extra layers of nylon.

One more possible disadvantage is that I can picture myself in a Harold Lloyd / Buster Keaton type silent movie as I try to get into my sleeping bag while keeping the quilt over me and continuing to do so as I toss and turn during the night! (But, that might be due to my coordination level)!

I have concluded that it would be more efficient to simply bring a little higher loft, down sleeping bag in questionable conditions than what would otherwise be called for. A little extra down doesn't weigh much or increase bulk much.

On the other hand, I have a thin synthetic quilt that I made for summer camping, so this dual system wouldn't cost me anything! Hmmm..