Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
Need some pack advice.
Display Avatars Sort By:
Jonathon Self
(Neist) - M

Locale: Oklahoma
Need some pack advice. on 06/18/2014 07:39:59 MDT Print View

(This is my first post here, so if I'm somehow posting somewhere in a way I'm not supposed to, I'm sorry!)

I need some advice on a new pack. I’m just getting into distance backpacking (but I've camped heavily for years now), and I need lightweight backpacking advice of a slightly different variety.

I want to do unsupported trips with no resupplies. Partially the desire to do so comes from a need to feel completely self-sufficient while on the trail, but also because some of the trails I want to traverse are quite poor for resupplies. The thought is that while I’ll have a relatively robust pack, it’ll primarily be filled with food. Basically I want to do lightweight backpacking only with a giant pile of food. That being said, I have a few necessities:

1. It (preferably) needs to be as light as possible.
2. It needs to carry 40 or more pounds comfortably.
3. It probably needs to have a frame. I have scoliosis and a pack without excellent weight transfer to the hips and some rigidity will be a no-go.
4. Might need to carry multiple bear canisters if I’m in an area that requires them.

I have considered a few options, most of which come from hunting pack manufacturers. There’s the Unaweep and some Stone Glacier options. I could also take a Kelty Cache Hauler frame and simply lash everything to it. That would be a slightly heavier option, but it’s probably one of the most flexible options as well.

Mostly what I’m asking for are opinions on light packs that can carry large loads. I think I’m going to go into the ‘hunting’ pack realm to find something slightly more robust, but I’m no expert. I’m fully open to suggestion.

I appreciate your help! And thanks in advance.

David Chenault
(DaveC) - BPL Staff - F

Locale: Crown of the Continent