Forum Index » GEAR » AGG's Caldera Kitchen

Display Avatars Sort By:
Sharon Bingham
(cowboisgirl) - F - MLife

Locale: Southwest
AGG's Caldera Kitchen on 08/20/2007 22:49:37 MDT Print View

Has anyone bought/used one of the kitchens?

If so, which one, and did you like it?

I'm thinking of getting one, but I've never used any of the components - i.e. never used a caldera cone, an alcohol stove, or a pot cozy - so I could really use some experience advice/opinions.

I'm new to backpacking in general. The plan that I'm currently finding the most appealing is to do freezer-bag style cooking (with a cozy for the freezer bag). Given this approach, it seems like the pot cozy and 4 cup screw lid storage container cozy aren't really going to do much for me - unless I just want to keep excess water or hot drinks warm (which now I think about it, wouldn't be so bad...).

Also, I'll usually be cooking for two, and so really wanted to go for a larger pot - say the FireLite SUL-1100 for example - so that I could have enough water for dinner AND hot drinks all at once. But there doesn't appear to be a kitchen put together for a pot that large...

Is there anything I'm missing/not thinking of? Any thoughts/comments are welcome!

Ben 2 World
(ben2world) - MLife

Locale: So Cal
Caldera on 08/21/2007 01:00:29 MDT Print View

Sharon:

Read this very recent thread:

http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/xdpy/forum_thread/9148/index.html

Joshua Mitchell
(jdmitch) - F

Locale: Kansas
Re: Caldera on 08/21/2007 07:57:43 MDT Print View

"http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/xdpy/forum_thread/9148/index.html"