Forum Index » Fishing » Recommended Fly Assortment for Colorado Alpine Creeks and Lakes

Display Avatars Sort By:
Josiah Vandervelde
(eternalnoob) - F - M

Locale: Florida
Recommended Fly Assortment for Colorado Alpine Creeks and Lakes on 05/06/2014 14:28:35 MDT Print View

I'm a newb fly fisher and have been pulling bass out of Florida lakes preparing for an upcoming trip to the Maroon Bells area to do some backpacking and fly fishing with my family. I have a 5wt rod that I plan to bring and was wondering about sample fly selections for the trip. I'd like to keep things simple but still cover the bases.

What patterns do you recommend? What sizes? How many of each size? (8 day trip including two zero days)

Edited by eternalnoob on 05/07/2014 06:32:29 MDT.

Pete Staehling
(staehpj1) - F
Flies on 05/07/2014 03:38:39 MDT Print View

I have no experience with Colorado trout so I hope someone else pipes up. I will say that I used an elk hair caddis, more than anything else in the Sierras. It worked well enough that I didn't bother much with anything else.

I also carried some various terrestrials, but the only one I actually used was a tiny black ant, which worked well but was harder for me to see.

I also had a general assortment that I didn't use at all.

How many of each you will need will depend on the water you fish, how much you fish, and your personal skills. I went through maybe 6 or 7 lost flies in a week of fishing the small streams that I hiked past.

Josiah Vandervelde
(eternalnoob) - F - M

"The Plan" on 05/07/2014 12:33:57 MDT Print View

This is what I've come up with so far. It may be overkill. Some of these I already have, most I would be purchasing.

Dries
Midge Dries #16-20
Elk Hair Caddis #14-18
Parachute Adams #14-20
Blue Winged Olive #12-20
Simulator #8-16
RS2 #18-22
Hoppers #10-12
Ants #14-18
Beetles #12-14

Wets:
Midge Pupa #14-20
Midge larva #18-22
Beadhead Prince #14-18
Pheasant Tail Flashback #14-20
Copper John #14-20