Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
Perils of stealth camping, hiking, or even jogging in the US
Display Avatars Sort By:
Luke Schmidt
(Cameron) - MLife

Locale: The WOODS
Re Re Computers in Class on 04/07/2014 06:16:13 MDT Print View

"Do teachers still stand in front of a class, go through the same lesson for the entire class?

That would be enough for bored students to develop bad attitude. At least it was in 1960s. And can't believe that's still what they do today."

I would be in hot water fast if I taught like that. We do a lot more hands on, we make foldables, do projects, watch 5 minute video clips etc. I actually us the technology a fair amount but even I'm still learning.

You can post assignments online, and the computer will grade them. You can do online homework assignments, and I've even seen teachers film a short lesson for their class to watch either as part of their homework or for while they are gone. Kids can work a math problem on a tablet and project it onto the board for everyone to see or send it to the teacher. The teacher can look at a computer and see what all the kids are working on and send them a message if they need help.

There are online programs for math that automatically select what the kid is weak at and provide more practice in that area. The also have "help" buttons that provide mini lessons on how to solve different math problems.

Back in the day the textbook changed teaching because all of a sudden you could teach a large group of kids more efficiently. When you think about it you could argue modern public education was built around the textbook. Now we're trying to figure out what education should look like in the digital age. I'm hoping it will evolve into something much more customized to the individual.

Edited by Cameron on 04/07/2014 08:37:01 MDT.

jerry adams
(retiredjerry) - MLife

Locale: Oregon and Washington
Re: Re Re Computers in Class on 04/07/2014 08:04:09 MDT Print View