Seam sealing weight gain?
Display Avatars Sort By:
Dave U
(FamilyGuy) - F

Locale: Rockies
Re: Re: Re: only variable? on 03/27/2014 11:33:38 MDT Print View

I am with Greg - one really can't determine how much the seams sealing added in weight because the shelter wasn't weighted first without the seam sealing completed.

My experience is as follows:

-1.3 oz added to an MLD DuoMid.

-1.8 oz added to a Tarptent Notch.

David Drake
(DavidDrake) - F - M

Locale: North Idaho
Re: Re: Re: Re: Seam sealer WEIGHT? on 03/27/2014 12:01:45 MDT Print View

I'm not a textiles expert, Ryan, but your example may be apples/oranges. I suspect the weight of shell fabrics for bags (or Cuben, in the case of zPacks shelters) is far more predictable from lot to lot than silnylon. And the high cost of good down creates an incentive to keep fill weights spot-on.

Greg's post above makes it clear there's significant variation from one tent to another within same style and same manufacturer. That's not going to be a variation in fabric area, and it's hard to see why a manufacturer would use random lengths for guy lines, tie outs, etc. How should a manufacturer quote 'accurate' specs when this is the case?

Going to Shield silnylon is generally regarded as an *increase* in quality. Maybe there's a slight weight penalty for that.

But for gear *outside* the SUL realm (and prob. even within it) the debate seems a little silly and/or dogmatic.

(edit for clarity)

Edited by DavidDrake on 03/27/2014 12:03:35 MDT.

A J
(tahiti) - F
should be disclosed on 03/27/2014 12:33:46 MDT Print View

Yes, while no one will notice +3 ounces, it seems that the manufacturer knows they are using heavier materials, but have not updated their website to reflect this.