Forum Index » GEAR » Family Tent

Display Avatars Sort By:
Genevieve Reichle
(Genevieve) - F
Family Tent on 07/15/2005 14:01:26 MDT Print View

I have no experience in the great outdoors but a am the mother of 3 year and 5 year old boys. So I am determined to take them camping and then backpacking when they are a little older. I would really appreciate advise on a what type of family tent would be good for a family of four in the Northeast -3 seasons. Thank you.

Paul Grube
(plosive) - F

Locale: Above Cache Creek, CA
family tent on 07/15/2005 14:51:51 MDT Print View

Hi Genevieve

I will base my suggestions on the example that my parents gave when they introduced me to backpacking and the outdoors. To start I remember helping put up and take down the tent during the daytime in the park and backyard to familiarize myself (and them?) to the “experience”. We would bring some lunch and make a picnic out of it. Next, I remember sleeping outside in the backyard with the lights on. This way if I had to go to the bathroom or if I got cold it was no big deal. Eventually, I graduated to car camping with hikes. Our hikes were short with no packs at first and gradually increased in length, pack weight etc.

When using a tent designed for 3 or more people and or car camping it is my personal opinion that it is not worth spending upwards of $500 on a “quality” tent. The inevitable soot of fire rings, broken glass and other debris found at most car camping sites make it impractical to spend that much money on a “family” tent. In my opinion Eureka, Kelty, Coleman and other discount brand tents are best suited for this level of camping. For example, the Eureka Tetragon (http://www.cabelas.com/cabelas/en/templates/links/link.jsp?id=0019163&type=pod&cmCat=catfeat) sleeps 4 and costs just $120.00! By planning your trips during fair weather you should have no problem being comfortable in this level of tent. After all, if the weather is severe you always have the vehicle as a backup.