Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
Ultralight Saws
Display Avatars Sort By:
John Hillyer
(TrNameLucky) - MLife
Punch not drill? on 11/26/2013 20:45:24 MST Print View

It's been a long time since I worked in a shop, but my first instinct would be to use a hydraulic punch. Drilling would be an expensive slow pia operation which would not be commercially viable.

Delmar O'Donnell
(Bolster)

Locale: Between Jacinto & Gorgonio
DD on 11/26/2013 20:57:43 MST Print View

Roger, I know the DD says it's OK for sharpening carbide, but have you tried it? I'm imagining it would take a tremendous toll on the diamond grind wheel in the DD. Carbide is rough stuff! Not as tough as diamonds, but would likely give the binding material a run for its money.

I wouldn't do it just because I don't like purchasing diamond wheels frequently, but I guess it can be done. Your other advice on how to drill is good; I would add that the saw blade must be very firmly clamped. You don't want a bit catching the saw blade on breakthrough and whipping it around like a helicopter blade. I'm sure the OP know this already; just posting it for anyone who is going to try this in the home shop. The drill press is often cited as one of the "most dangerous" tools in the shop for that reason. I probably have more drill press injuries than any other shop injury (besides hammer-on-thumb dysfunction).

Honestly I like the spot-annealing tip the best so far, I'll have to try that sometime with my acetylene torch. Interested to see if I can keep the annealed spot reasonably small.

I wonder if a spot welder could anneal.

Edited by Bolster on 11/26/2013 21:00:48 MST.

David Gardner
(GearMaker) - M

Locale: Northern California
Re: Re: drilling hardened steel on 11/27/2013 00:04:18 MST Print View