Forum Index » GEAR » Noob tarp question

Display Avatars Sort By:
Jennifer Mitol
(Jenmitol) - M

Locale: In my dreams....
Noob tarp question on 11/20/2013 10:53:53 MST Print View

I recently acquired an 8x10' silnylon tarp from MLD. I have never used a flat tarp before, but I've been itching to try one. I am reading tons of stuff about how to set it up...a bit of a learning curve I guess!

Anyway, just wondering what to do about the guylines: do I just carry a big supply of line and attach as I need it in the field, do I pre-tie them and leave them attached to the tarp? There just seem to be so many configurations, I just don't know what to do with the lines!!!

And any other advice for a flat tarp newbie would be greatly appreciated. There is almost TOO much info out there, I seem to be drowning in it.

Thanks!

Max Dilthey
(mdilthey) - M

Locale: MaxTheCyclist.com
Skurka has a System on 11/20/2013 10:56:30 MST Print View

Hi Jen!

Check this out: http://andrewskurka.com/2012/tarp-guyline-system/

d k
(dkramalc) - MLife
Re: Noob tarp question on 11/20/2013 11:45:15 MST Print View

I had a similar question and here is the thread with lots of helpful responses:

http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/xdpy/forum_thread/47912/index.html?skip_to_post=407664#407664

I ended up using braided mason's line and tautline hitches. So far it's been mostly for supplemental tie-outs on tarptents, but seems to work well and it got me started on knots. And yes, I think the idea is attach them to the tarp or tent once and leave them there.

Ben Crocker
(alexdrewreed) - M

Locale: Kentucky
Noob tarp question on 11/20/2013 11:58:16 MST Print View