Forum Index » GEAR » Bad experience with Jetboil

Display Avatars Sort By:
K C
(KalebC) - F

Locale: South West
Bad experience with Jetboil on 10/08/2013 20:54:44 MDT Print View

I have had a very bad experience with Jetboil.
I recently took my Jetboil Sumo Titanium cooking system on a trip this summer to AK.

During the trip I noticed that one of fins on the fluxring had come unbonded, I have 15 years backpacking experience and I did not misuse it, boil it empty overheat it.

I emailed Jetboil and got an RA number, I did make the mistake of not reading through the entire email and just got the RA number and sent it in. I got an email back stating that they were not going to cover it under warranty due to mis-use/neglect. They said the cup was either burned dry or boiled empty.

They kept my Titanium Sumo cup and offered me a coupon to buy another one for $75.39

So I spent $7.00 to send in a $189.95 product back for repair/replacement and ended up with nothing.....

BPL community beware!

Max Dilthey
(mdilthey) - M

Locale: MaxTheCyclist.com
Nobody Screws Dilthey on 10/08/2013 20:57:16 MDT Print View

These posts always crush me. You guys need to learn how to argue over the phone!

Bob Gross
(--B.G.--) - F

Locale: Silicon Valley
Re: Bad experience with Jetboil on 10/08/2013 21:01:24 MDT Print View

"So I spent $7.00 to send in a $189.95 product back for repair/replacement and ended up with nothing....."

1. Nothing? They offered you a coupon. If nothing else, you got an education.
2. Always remember to read the fine print.

--B.G.--

Serge G.
(sgiachetti) - M

Locale: Boulder, CO
good customer service on 10/08/2013 21:11:10 MDT Print View

Jetboil went out of there way to help me with an issue I had with my stove. The replaced it for free, with the updated version. Then when my old pot didn't lock with the new stove, they quickly replaced my pot at no charge. Flawless customer service.