Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
Desperately need vegan or vegetarian Lunch ideas
Display Avatars Sort By:
Bob Gross
(--B.G.--) - F

Locale: Silicon Valley
Re: Re on 10/07/2013 15:36:56 MDT Print View

Heath, your condition must be something completely different from the ordinary stomach problems that lots of us deal with.

--B.G.--

Heath Poulter
(antitrust311) - F

Locale: Southwest
Re on 10/07/2013 15:48:56 MDT Print View

Bob,
It is. It causes me much distress but I try and not let it affect what I like to do. It's pretty crazy and definitely not something I thought I'd ever have to deal with and more so that I'm only 33.

Lisa Frugoli
(alfresco) - MLife

Locale: San Francisco Bay Area
Desperately need vegan or vegetarian lunch ideas on 10/07/2013 20:56:48 MDT Print View

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/tofu-jerky-ii/

I've been making this tofu jerky recipe for a couple of months now. It's great & so much cheaper than the store-bought versions. I use my dehydrator. Costco has organic tofu blocks. Seems to be very shelf-stable but haven't had much around for long! Tested it out on meat eaters & vegetarians & all love it.

Heath Poulter
(antitrust311) - F

Re Tofu jerky on 10/07/2013 21:05:39 MDT Print View

That's great. I'd never even heard of that before. Do you have any other ideas like that?

Craig W.
(xnomanx) - F - M
Re: Re Tofu jerky on 10/07/2013 21:46:23 MDT Print View

How about hummus and baba ganoush (eggplant spread)? Is tahini sauce too fatty?
I find that both make a great vegan spread.

I also didn't see anything about beans mentioned here, maybe I missed it.
Any mashed/refried style bean rehydrates well without heat and makes a good spread- burritos or the like. Same goes for mashed potatoes; calorie dense, fast hydrating, easy to make burritos. Vegan "sausage" or "meat" patties crumbled into mashed potatoes and eaten as a burrito might fit the bill...but the patties would require heating.