WTB Lightweight used down sleeping bag with an en rating 0-15 women's or unisex
Display Avatars Sort By:
Teel Gordon
(Runningup)
WTB Lightweight used down sleeping bag with an en rating 0-15 women's or unisex on 09/23/2013 13:14:59 MDT Print View

I'm 5'3" about 115 pounds and sleep very cold. Open to suggestions on bags but I need something that will fit in a small pack, is very warm, and used (if down). I'm open to synthetics, but so far it doesn't seem like a synthetic bag will meet my needs. Weight and warmth are very important to me since I'm small.

Id like to do part of the AT next year so I need something that will be warm enough on the coldest and highest parts of the trail. If you think my EN guess is off let me know.

I'll make additional separate posts but I'm also looking for a light head lamp and sleeping pad for the same purpose. I'm fairly new to this and am not sure about an open or closed cell pad or other options.

Max Dilthey
(mdilthey) - M

Locale: MaxTheCyclist.com
Information on 09/23/2013 13:32:39 MDT Print View

Just some general advice:

A full-length air pad will do a LOT to keep you warm. I would almost say it's the most important piece of your sleep setup. Closed foam is fine, but an air pad is much better. If you're cold, I would suggest it.

Also, there's not really any such thing as "open cell" foam sleeping pads. Closed cell means water can't get in, which is absolutely the only option for a hiker. Sponges are open-cell. There's no weight difference as far as I know, and closed cell is still very cheap; a CCF pad can be like 10 bucks.