Re: wax based on 09/23/2013 15:29:09 MDT Print View

> nikwax is wax based, vs chemical.

and wax is not a chemical??????

Cheers

And E
(LunchANDYnner) - M

Locale: Pacific Northwest
touche on 09/23/2013 15:38:25 MDT Print View

Touche, Roger. Yes, both chemicals. Not sure if nikwax uses naturally occuring wax vs synthesized vs lab made fluorocarbons, etc.

You'd think I wouldn't have made that chemical vs chemical mistake considering I'm a molecular biology research scientist.

just Justin Whitson
(ArcturusBear) - M
Re: Re: wax based on 09/23/2013 15:43:46 MDT Print View

Well, i understood what An-D was trying to say, a more natural, nature based chemical compound vs a human made synthetic compound. Sure, there are plenty of toxins in nature but most of these are in relation to and concentrated with animal or plant defense mechanisms, and i don't know about you but i'm not in the habit of smearing cobra venom all over my clothes anyways...

And i certainly would prefer smearing something like beeswax on my skin rather than something like Grangers no matter how safe and non toxic the companies that make this stuff tell me it is.

Human made synthesized chemicals or nature distilled isolations and concentrations on the other hand, whole long list of toxicity in many different areas and applications. I'm not saying i don't use the latter, course i do, but i think limiting exposure is also a good idea too.

E J
(mountainwalker) - MLife

Locale: SF Bay Area & New England
Which other brands of DWR spray do you recommend? on 09/23/2013 16:40:37 MDT Print View

Roger and others, which other brands perform well in your experience? I've found Nikwak doesn't last as long.

just Justin Whitson
(ArcturusBear) - M
Re: Which other brands of DWR spray do you recommend? on 09/23/2013 19:41:37 MDT Print View