Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
My (failed) attempt at a SHR section.
Display Avatars Sort By:
Hiking Malto
(gg-man) - F
Eat more carbs on 09/11/2013 18:29:20 MDT Print View

Problem solved. The high route is not the place to skimp on food.

jeffrey armbruster
(book) - M

Locale: Northern California
"My (failed) attempt at a SHR section." on 09/11/2013 19:08:59 MDT Print View

"Problem solved"...umm, I'd still suggest going in for that cardio work up. Not painful--no pain at all!--not expensive. Certainly good for peace of mind and crossing things off the list of possible causes.

I'm no doctor, but your lack of certain symptoms of altitude sickness gives pause. And you mentioned a racing heart. At least run the description of your symptoms that you gave in your second, more elaborate post, past a doctor or cardiologist. What's to lose?
We're just a bunch of people on the internet.

Jennifer Mitol
(Jenmitol) - M

Locale: In my dreams....
Re: "My (failed) attempt at a SHR section." on 09/11/2013 19:52:15 MDT Print View

Thanks Jeffrey, I couldn't agree with that advice more. There are plenty of cardiological issues that can crop up when the body is under duress (long hikes, altitude, insufficient caloric intake, heat, etc) that you won't find at any other times. It has the potential to be life threatening (the single most common initial symptom of cardiac problems is sudden death. Seriously.), so just rule that out before you head back out there. By far the most likely scenario is dehydration and insufficient caloric intake, but goodness gracious you don't want to miss something important.

Be persistent. See a cardiologist.

Hiking Malto
(gg-man) - F
Re: "My (failed) attempt at a SHR section." on 09/11/2013 20:00:29 MDT Print View