Forum Index » Gear Lists » What I'm Taking on my JMT Hike (this is how you do it)

Display Avatars Sort By:
ROBERT TANGEN
(RobertM2S) - M

Locale: Lake Tahoe
David Chenault: watched him naked while wearing his pack? on 08/06/2013 13:16:25 MDT Print View

I'm no expert, but can you really tell his pack is too small unless you (1) see him naked while wearing the pack or (2) feel under his pack hip belt while he's wearing it? I don't really know what I'm talking about, but I've ben told the hip belt should go OVER the pelvis bone, not above it and not below it. How can you tell where it is?

His shoulder straps seem to go up and over his shoulders, forming an upside-down "U" shape, which they tell me means the pack is not too long.

rOg w
(rOg_w) - F - M

Locale: rogwilmers.wordpress
deleted on 08/06/2013 13:46:17 MDT Print View

deleted

Edited by rOg_w on 09/08/2013 18:00:07 MDT.

Nick Gatel
(ngatel) - MLife

Locale: Southern California
Re: Thread drift on 08/06/2013 14:12:25 MDT Print View

Hmmm... I am sure his TOTAL pack weight was pretty light. Probably doesn't matter.

Marko Botsaris
(millonas) - F - MLife

Locale: Santa Cruz Mountains, CA
Re: Re: Thread drift on 08/06/2013 15:59:40 MDT Print View

"Hmmm... I am sure his TOTAL pack weight was pretty light. Probably doesn't matter."

+1

Plus I think it is unworthy to be snippy about a guy who can do that many miles per day! The East German judge deducts 0.5 points for bad style.

Edited by millonas on 08/06/2013 16:03:08 MDT.

Greg Mihalik
(greg23) - M

Locale: Colorado
Re: Re: Re: Thread drift on 08/06/2013 18:58:34 MDT Print View

Dennis Ahern JMT 2012 Fastpack Gear

Starting weight was stated as 30#, including clothes worn, but not water.

When he pulled out the bear canister with food his pack came in at 19.5#

And I noticed that between the weigh-in and the hike the pack changed.

So, +/- on the weights, but still, surprisingly heavy.

Edited by greg23 on 08/06/2013 19:00:58 MDT.

Aaron Sorensen