Forum Index » GEAR » enLIGHTened equipment product changes in Sept.

Display Avatars Sort By:
Paul Andronico
(Jakesandwich) - M

Locale: S.F. Bay Area
2.5 ozs on 10/26/2013 12:59:50 MDT Print View

I have a 20 degree RevelationX, which I loved until I saw the Enigma :) In the summer months in the Sierras I have not generally needed to sleep in my hooded Stoic Hadron. So in the heart of the summer, a 30 degree Enigma would probably work well even if there is a cold snap (just add the Hadron). In the shoulder seasons, however, I have been very happy to have the 20 degree quilt rather than a lighter, but less warm quilt.

So what to do for 3-season use in the Sierras? Tough call. I personally would probably choose the 20 degree Enigma. It is still ridiculously light and only weighs 2.5 ozs more than the 30 degree Enigma. And even with the sewn footbox I think it can be reasonably vented during warmer weather. But my trips tend to be 3 to 4 days, where I am not as worried about a few ounces.

Either way the Enigma looks fantastic.

alex hansen
(holden425) - F
the 2.5 ounce difference.. on 10/26/2013 13:09:11 MDT Print View

the 2.5 ounce difference is not my biggest concern, though lighter is nice, i just cant justify buying another bag designed for the same temps as my current bag, especially when it would be costing 350ish dollars to save that Lb

Paul Andronico
(Jakesandwich) - M

Locale: S.F. Bay Area
Upgrading on 10/26/2013 13:19:23 MDT Print View

Alex, I understand not wanting to upgrade if you are duplicating your current gear. I suppose one choice is to sell the bag, but I know a lot of people don't like using quilts below freezing. I have taken my quilt down to around 20, and with a hooded down jacket it was perfectly fine. But I certainly understand the allure of a cozy mummy bag in really cold weather.

Aaron Sorensen
(awsorensen) - MLife

Locale: South of Forester Pass
Re: Upgrading on 10/26/2013 19:24:47 MDT Print View