Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
Clorine Dioxide question.
Display Avatars Sort By:
Craig W.
(xnomanx) - F - M
Chlorine Dioxide question. on 05/13/2007 19:21:13 MDT Print View

Ok, I know this is a MUCH talked about issue, but I'm totally new to chlorine dioxide (I've been filtering forever) and want to make the switch for a JMT thru-hike this summer. Forgive me, but I haven't found any real concise answers to my questions through a search. I'd like to know:
1. Is contaminated water on the outside of your treatment container a risk? If so, what do you do?
2. Pre-filtering through a bandana, etc: This seems to imply the use of a separate, "dirty", collection container. It seems a wide-mouth would be necessary for the treatment/drinking container so you could hold a bandana around the rim while pouring...

Am I on the right track here?

Would any of you be willing to (yes, again) explain the steps you take and your favorite containers?
Thanks for the help,
Craig

Edited by xnomanx on 05/13/2007 21:15:31 MDT.

James Pitts
(jjpitts) - F

Locale: Midwest US
Re: Clorine Dioxide question. on 05/13/2007 19:59:55 MDT Print View

I use a narrow-mouth Platy (1l). I fill it with water, add the ClO2, and pour some back into the cap which I then dump on the threads. I very seldom have to deal with water that has to be pre-filtered. A few floaties are par for the course and don't bother me. In the summer I'll take two platy bottles. I drink from one while the other is being treated. I turn the bottle being treated upside-down on the outside of my pack so I don't confuse it with the one that I am drinking from.

Craig W.
(xnomanx) - F - M
Re: Re: Clorine Dioxide question. on 05/13/2007 21:14:57 MDT Print View

Thanks for the response James. I've always liked using Platy's, what you describe is pretty much what I had in mind.

Jeffery Ludwig
(JeffLudwig) - F
Re: Chlorine Dioxide question. on 05/15/2007 10:18:59 MDT Print View