PCT fire...stove question
Display Avatars Sort By:
Greg Mihalik
(greg23) - M

Locale: Colorado
Re: Re: PCT fire...stove question on 05/20/2013 09:58:39 MDT Print View

"I did wonder how much safer a no-spill stove, such as the starlyte, might be? .... I would just prefer my caldera cone."

My wife and I have been using a Cone for a 4 years, probably a 150 days out, and have never come close to knocking it over.

We are careful about duff and combustibles.

Our fuel bottle is a "nozzle top" so even if it did get knocked over no fuel would spill.

It ain't rocket science.

Jon Fong
(jonfong) - F - M

Locale: FLAT CAT GEAR
Re: Re: PCT fire...stove question -my 2 Cents -Jon on 05/20/2013 10:34:23 MDT Print View

Jennifer, by asking questions and getting information, you are clearly on the way towards using your alcohol stove safely. Nick is correct, that following the basic rules and regulations are of primary importance. Clear a spot around your stove (the forest service says a 5 foot radius). When I look at using alcohol stoves, these are the things that come into mind.
1) Find a sheltered spot, out of the wind. Wind accelerates the burn rate of alcohol. If anything bad happens, the wind will make it 10 times worse. Besides, wind will reduce your efficiency so the bottom line is less wind is in the direction of goodness.
2) Even if your spot appears clear, look for combustibles and remove them. The bottom line is that the stored energy in the duff and debris is much higher than that contained in an alcohol stove. Dry wood has an energy density of ~4 Kcal/gram and alcohol is ~ 5Kcal/gram. If your spot isn’t great, find a new spot. There is probably more potential fuel per square foot around your stove than the alcohol inside your stove. Setting up a good kitchen requires the same amount of effort and diligence as setting up a hammock or tent.