Forum Index » GEAR » Garmin Maps on iPhone (3GS)

Display Avatars Sort By:
Rich J
(PNWhiker) - F

Locale: Pacific NW
Garmin Maps on iPhone (3GS) on 05/02/2013 16:12:21 MDT Print View

Hi,

Is there an app which allows the use of the Garmin Topo maps on an iPhone? I already have a Garmin 24k Topo map (which I bought for the Garmin device). Or, should I just bag it (sunk cost) and go for Endecott's 'Topo Maps?'

Thanks in advance for any help.

Ian B.
(IDBLOOM) - MLife

Locale: PNW
Topo on 05/03/2013 05:30:55 MDT Print View

Good morning,

I'm using Gaia on my iphone. I'm still learning the ins and outs of it but you can download maps to the phone. Not sure about Garmin.

Galen Benson
(wanttoknow) - F
Gaia X2 on 05/03/2013 07:49:55 MDT Print View

Gaia works great on iphone and Im sure its better than the garmin maps. You can download sat maps and the cal topo maps which are better than most topo maps

Gregory Allen
(Gallen1119) - M

Locale: Golden, CO
Re: Gaia X2 on 05/03/2013 17:42:38 MDT Print View

Is Gaia worth the $19.99 price when there other cheaper or "free" alternatives? I've tried many, but have not been satisfied. The reviews look good, but wanted more info from BPL'ers before pulling the trigger. I've always been a paper map/compass sort of guy, but I usually do carry my iPhone anyway.

Ian B.
(IDBLOOM) - MLife

Locale: PNW
Re: Re: Gaia X2 on 05/03/2013 17:57:56 MDT Print View

"Is Gaia worth the $19.99 price when there other cheaper or "free" alternatives? I've tried many, but have not been satisfied."

I don't regret the purchase. I purchased the Gaia ap last winter and I've only had a few opportunities to use it. It's slower once I'm off the grid but I expected that.