Status of practical solar chargers?
Display Avatars Sort By:
Kevin Burton
(burtonator) - F

Locale: norcal
Status of practical solar chargers? on 04/26/2013 15:41:07 MDT Print View

I've read the threads of solar panels and IMO it's impossible to figure out the right approach here regarding charging batteries in the wild.

The issues seem to boil down to:

- carrying a battery for short trips is actually lighter than a solar charger

- there are no lightweight solar chargers that you can just buy and have delivered. Lots of people just make their own.

- hiking while charging is near impossible as you spend too much time in the shade.

- charging takes too much time. 8-10 hours

My treks are about 2-10 days each and I tend to spend the entire time hiking with little time at my camp. This means I need a solar charger that can charge while I walk.

I also want something that I can just order online. I'm an engineer but I already have to many projects. I need something that just works.

Thoughts?

Stephen M
(stephenm) - MLife

Locale: The Great Lakes Bay Region
Re: Status of practical solar chargers? on 04/26/2013 15:57:22 MDT Print View

Hi Kevin,

Probaly no help to you but I purchased a solar system a couple of year ago and after testing it it at home for a while I decided it was too much off a hassle to use on backpacking trips, I have used it car camping successfully.

On longer trips I carry 2 spare batteries for my phone and and two spare sets of AAA's for headlamp gps, I recently purchasd an Anker USB
charger that will charge my phone 3 or 4 times.

Cheers,

Bob Gross
(--B.G.--) - F

Locale: Silicon Valley
Re: Status of practical solar chargers? on 04/26/2013 15:59:51 MDT Print View

"- there are no lightweight solar chargers that you can just buy and have delivered. Lots of people just make their own.

- hiking while charging is near impossible as you spend too much time in the shade.

- charging takes too much time. 8-10 hours"