Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
How'd did you get in to rock climbing?
Display Avatars Sort By:
Ian B.
(IDBLOOM) - MLife

Locale: PNW
How did you get started in rock climbing? on 04/21/2013 23:58:25 MDT Print View

My experience with rock climbing is minimal. The few times I did was heavily supervised. I've always had above average leg strength but I've never been known to knock out 35 pull ups... or far fewer.

I have some rope experience with rappelling as I rappelled out of helicopters in the Army and was a certified "Rappel Master" where I could rig up a helicopter and kick people out of it. The bottom line, I can go down but going up is a problem for me from a knowledge/skill set point of view. I'm certainly in no position to instruct someone else on how to rock climb.

My son is nine years old and loves climbing. He climbed a 5.4 section of the Seattle REI tower today without breaking a sweat and is begging for more. He may not be ready for the 5.11 section yet but I'm confident that he has the determination to get there in time. In the short term, I'm going to take him to some of the local gyms which have climbing walls and I'd like to learn along with him.

My question in a nutshell, how did you become a rock climber? Was this something you did with friends, scouts or part of an alpine club? What would you suggest for a middle aged man and his 9 y/o son? I'm thinking about this from a short and long term perspective.

Thanks in advance.

v/r

Ian

Edit for typo

Edited by IDBLOOM on 04/22/2013 00:44:57 MDT.

Sharon J.
(squark) - F

Locale: SF Bay area
groupon on 04/22/2013 11:25:11 MDT Print View

Wouldn't call myself a climber, but am trying out climbing, thanks to a groupon offer. Got a month's membership plus intro class and rental equipment for $75. So definitely worth checking the various deals sites.