Forum Index » GEAR » Does anone still use tyvek as a ground cloth?

Display Avatars Sort By:
Jay Wilkerson
(Creachen) - MLife

Locale: East Bay
Does anyone still use tyvek as ground cloth? on 04/19/2013 16:48:34 MDT Print View

Tyvek-014
I no longer use Tyvek-I did in the past. I have been using the MLD Clear Mylar since 2011. Significant wait savings and the material is just tough enough. I really like the see through aspect because you pick and preen the objects from underneath your ground cloth. I have a piece cut for a YAMA 1.25 bug shelter and it ways 1.5oz!

Barry P
(BarryP) - F

Locale: Eastern Idaho (moved from Midwest)
Re: Does anone still use tyvek as a ground cloth? on 04/19/2013 17:50:00 MDT Print View

I use the indoor window wrap. The outdoor wrap is about 50% heavier—though tougher. And I cut it big and let it shrink in the sun before I go out and use it. And March and April is when I find it on sale.
I do wish Tyvek was as light as polycro. Polycro is always wet on the underside in the morning and takes a while to dry. So I usually continue drying it at rest stops. Since it is damp, it holds a little more dirt and twigs so it’s harder to shake off. This is where tyvek is nice. But the weight and pack size of polycro keeps me using it. And I’m glad it’s tough stuff.

-Barry
-The Rockies and IL bogs were made for Tevas

Rodney Mruk
(rodney_mruk) - M

Locale: Northeast Oregon
Spinnaker Ground Cloth on 04/19/2013 18:25:20 MDT Print View

Several years ago I bought a Gossamer Spinnaker Ground Cloth - 30" X 84"' @ 2.0 oz