Knots
Display Avatars Sort By:
Paul Magnanti
(PaulMags) - MLife

Locale: People's Republic of Boulder
And the advantages on 04/17/2013 07:29:00 MDT Print View

Ah, but there are advantages..and that's why you are careful. :)

Trust me, my buddy is a climbing instructor for the CMC and is know for being conservative with climbing. He's been climbing for roughly the same span you have have.

I readily admit I am not an expert..but do trust my friend.

Feel free to e-mail any further follow up directly.

Otherwise I may have to say what the 12 yr old boy scouts called a square knot. And it was not not Politically Correct. :)

Edited by PaulMags on 04/17/2013 11:30:39 MDT.

Adan Lopez
(Lopez) - F

Locale: San Gabriel Valley
Engine know-how does not replace good knot skills on 04/17/2013 11:16:13 MDT Print View

I once knew a guy who did not know how to tie his shoes. And he's dead now. Knots are serious business, I dont care what Nick says.

just Justin Whitson
(ArcturusBear)
to knot, or not to knot, that is the question on 04/17/2013 13:45:37 MDT Print View

So far, the Farrimond is my favorite guyline knot. Anyone know anyone any better that is relatively easy to learn, fast, and very easy to undo?

Adan Lopez
(Lopez) - F

Locale: San Gabriel Valley
Hitches rock! on 04/17/2013 14:16:24 MDT Print View

The Farrimond is another I had not seen before, awesome! So many of these are discussed on the bushcrafter pages. Maybe I'm a closet bushcrafter?

Craig W.
(xnomanx) - F - M
Re: Engine know-how does not replace good knot skills on 04/17/2013 14:17:21 MDT Print View

I used to climb quite a bit. Also a fisherman (mostly saltwater, but flyfishing too). Hard to escape tying knots if you do either. Do you need a ton of knots? Probably not. But I enjoy knowing them and seeking uses for them.