Forum Index » GEAR » Hammock for NH white mountains direttissima 2013 HH Hyperlight vs WBBB???

Display Avatars Sort By:
Bradley Jay
(standupdouble) - F
Hammock for NH white mountains direttissima 2013 HH Hyperlight vs WBBB??? on 04/01/2013 11:31:53 MDT Print View

I'm currently planning a direttissima attempt for the whites this summer. My normal sleep setup is tarp and bivy (mld grace and mld superlight) but I like the idea of a hammock in the whites because it will increase my options for sleeping locations and keep me off the rocks. I've been reading up as much as I can on hammocks. While the nerd in me is attracted to Warbonnet the pragmatic side thinks that the Hennessy Hyperlight may be my best option given that I'm a hammock novice and it comes as a complete set up.

Weight is a real issue I'm not looking to get stupid light and I don't want to spend over 300.

Zippers: Also - I noticed that there is an option for a zipper entry on the hennessy opposed to the bottom entry. Why would this be preferable?

Any help/advice would be extremely appreciated.

Best,

Brad

Max Dilthey
(mdilthey) - M

Locale: MaxTheCyclist.com
I Love HH on 04/01/2013 11:41:29 MDT Print View

I started as a beginner to hammocks and camping in general in my Hennessey Hammock Ultralight. I used it on a 30-day trip last august and every little weekend outing since. I've used it when it's been -10ºF and 90ºF. I've used it in pouring rain and howling wind. I've never honestly slept better.

I highly recommend. The Velcro entrance is so intuitive, I don't know why you'd want a zipper either. Stick with the velcro.

The knots took one hour to learn and have been useful hundreds of times outside of hammocking, too.

Don Selesky
(backslacker) - M
Re: Hammock for NH white mountains direttissima 2013 HH Hyperlight vs WBBB??? on 04/01/2013 11:47:39 MDT Print View