MYOG ergo trekking pole grips. Which materials? Also, attached pic.
Display Avatars Sort By:
Rusty Beaver
(rustyb) - F

Locale: Rocky Mountains
MYOG ergo trekking pole grips. Which materials? Also, attached pic. on 03/17/2013 17:53:30 MDT Print View

I made this grip today from minicell foam. As suspected, it's a little squishy.

To stiffen it, I thought about adding that plastic coat stuff people use for tool handles and such....but I have never used it before...and am concerned with it being heavier than I'd like. Also thought about the truck bed liner spray on stuff...but have the same concerns I do for the previously mentioned stuff.

Anyone have any ideas as to how I could stiffen this grip ...or ideas for a firmer material I could carve another grip from that would also be light?

grip

Doug I.
(idester) - MLife

Locale: MidAtlantic
Re: MYOG ergo trekking pole grips. Which materials? Also, attached pic. on 03/17/2013 18:05:38 MDT Print View

"or ideas for a firmer material I could carve another grip from that would also be light?"

Cork.

Rusty Beaver
(rustyb) - F

Re: Re: MYOG ergo trekking pole grips. Which materials? Also, attached pic. on 03/17/2013 18:52:23 MDT Print View

From something like this: http://www.wholesaleyogamats.com/ideal-3-cork-block/?gclid=CNPPruWFhbYCFch7Qgod7H0A8w ?

Thanks. Thought of that initially but was thinking it might not sculpt well with a rasp, sandpaper, etc. But then again, I have no experience working with it.

Jake D
(JakeDatc) - F

Locale: Bristol,RI
Re: Re: Re: MYOG ergo trekking pole grips. Which materials? Also, attached pic. on 03/17/2013 19:36:40 MDT Print View

nevermind..

Edited by JakeDatc on 03/17/2013 20:59:17 MDT.

Rusty Beaver
(rustyb) - F

Re: Re: Re: Re: MYOG ergo trekking pole grips. Which materials? Also, attached pic. on 03/17/2013 20:41:41 MDT Print View

"for almost the same price but less work.. unless you like the carving part :)"