Forum Index » Gear Swap » Gear Swap Etiquette

Display Avatars Sort By:
Martin Van Laarhoven
(vtrek)

Locale: NorthEast
one more opinion on 03/19/2013 17:10:20 MDT Print View

I will start off by saying that I have had great experiences with buying things here on BPL. I also very much enjoy being able to access the wealth of information available to me here. But since we are venting...

1) I too would like to know what items have sold for, not so much to bleed my fellow hikers wallets dry (as one suggested) but to be assured that someone is not trying to bleed mine. I am new to light weight backpacking and want decent gear without paying more than I need to. I ALWAYS look up gear before I buy to feel confident that the price is reasonable.

2) What frustrates me is the amount of money y'all are willing to pay for used items. I laugh when I read things like "Sells new for $195, I have only used it six times, asking $185". Then I cry because someone actually pays it!!!

3) Yes, put actual photos of your item (most people do) and give detailed description (most do this too). It really helps those of us who are trying to learn what gear is what.

Again, I think this is a great site and well worth the subscription/membership price. I'm learning a lot and occasionally find gear at reasonable prices. Thanks for listening. (Well reading actually).

Travis Leanna
(T.L.) - MLife

Locale: Wisconsin
Re: one more opinion on 03/19/2013 17:17:44 MDT Print View

While transparency and good prices are nice, remember that Gear Swap is a true free market.

1. An item is posted for a price.

2.Someone buys it because they want that item for the listed price. Its a free market trade, fair and square, no matter how ridiculous you may think of the price.

3. If #2 doesn't happen, the price is lowered until it sells or is taken off the market. What an item is listed for is 100% the sellers prerogative. The free market determines if it'll sell at that price.

Stephen M
(stephenm) - MLife