Subscribe Forums Newsletter Facebook Twitter
Complete range of sleep setup, aka the quilt quiver
Display Avatars Sort By:
spelt with a t
(spelt) - F

Locale: SW/C PA
Complete range of sleep setup, aka the quilt quiver on 03/02/2013 12:51:16 MST Print View

Obviously this is going to vary depending on where you live and hike, but assuming you've got your sleep system dialed in, I'm wondering how many bags/quilts you have and what range of degrees they cover. Right now I have a 20 degree quilt and a 30 degree bag that I switch off using, and a 0 degree bag. For me, I would think insulation pieces at 0, 20, and 40 degrees would be sufficient (but obviously I'm still working it out). Anything below 0 and the 40 degree could be layered on top, anything above 60 or so I could open up the 40 degree piece or else just sleep in my clothes. Thoughts?

Aaron Davis
(ardavis324) - F
Re: Complete range of sleep setup, aka the quilt quiver on 03/02/2013 12:58:51 MST Print View

One 30 degree quilt. I don't ever go out when it gets below 20's. If warmer, I'll just use it loosely like a blanket. I avoid having more than one item of the same type of gear.

Edited by ardavis324 on 03/02/2013 12:59:24 MST.

spelt with a t
(spelt) - F

Re: Re: Complete range of sleep setup, aka the quilt quiver on 03/02/2013 13:14:24 MST Print View

I admire your minimalism, honestly. I've been slowly changing my life to be able to live with fewer possessions. But I like to ski and hike in winter and that requires a dedicated cold weather bag.

John Vance
(Servingko) - F

Locale: Intermountain West
Quilt quiver on 03/02/2013 13:50:05 MST Print View

I have been fine with a 15f quilt and a 40f quilt. The 15f quilt is fine for me down to 0f and the 40f quilt is good to the mid twenties by augmenting either with what I normally carry.