Forum Index » GEAR » What do you carry for First Aid?

Display Avatars Sort By:
Ian Van Halen
(IDBLOOM) - MLife

Locale: PNW
Combat gauze on 02/03/2013 21:40:17 MST Print View

Just took a trauma course from a medic with 3 or 4 combat tours under his belt. Here is what I learned from him:

Yes quick clot can cause necrosis
Combat gauze is still recommended and doesn't cause necrosis
Packing a deep wound with arterial bleeding with ordinary steril gauze is fine
hemostats are impractical in this setting

My background is military and EMS FWIW here is what I carry when I'm solo: Imodium, mucho tape, NSAID, Benadryl, moleskin, Neosporin, and common sense. Anything else I need I can scrounge from my pack. I'll flush any wounds with sterilized water.

If I'm hunting or in the back 40 during the hunting season then I'll carry a GSW kit as well. If I'm hiking with my kids or untested hikers then I'll bring a mac daddy blister kit including tincture of benzoin and alcohol prep pads. If you are a real bad @$$ then you can give the blister a hot shot with the benzoin or superglue. Hurts like heck but that blister will be good to go.

I don't do things 10 hours away from my truck that I would do 10 minutes away from my truck. The summit will be there tomorrow. The snow field will probably soften up once the sun hits it. If I keep walking I'll find a safe place to cross the stream. I make more mistakes once I've hit the wall so I know when to call it a day. I'm older now so I've lost any compulsion to perform back 40 acrobatics. My feet are pretty tough but they are my first priority of work during breaks.

I only worked EMS full time for three years and only applied a traction splint once in that time. In my experience mid shaft femur fractures are not super common but they do happen. You are only limited by your imagination but this is basically how I learned to use a field expedient one in my WFR class:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W2H6J4fvUeQ

Roger Dodger