Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
2013 winter list: Northern Rockies
Display Avatars Sort By:
David Chenault
(DaveC) - BPL Staff - F

Locale: Crown of the Continent
2013 winter list: Northern Rockies on 01/22/2013 20:20:11 MST Print View

This list represents what I've been using for the past two months here in northwest Montana. You can find it in my profile, or here:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AoEhuD5RFBfYdG1VdlVGWUVQYnh2VXAwcGlaUFI2SFE

One must be realistic about conditions for a gear list to be meaningful. For me this means that local winter trips will be cool to cold (i.e. rain very unlikely), fairly dry, and snowy. Skis are mandatory, and rain is unlikely. The vast majority of my winter trips (all trips, for that matter) are weekend affairs due to professional obligations, which makes planning easier and more certain.

Short trips also mean less food weight, which in part explains the luxury items above. A wood stove is not necessary, and for most of my trips I've got more insulation than is strictly necessary, but the added pounds simply do not matter. Come March and April when my fitness and ambition is on the upswing, I'll gravitate back towards taking the bare minimum.

I also have to confess that the majority of my backcountry trips in the next two months will be for a park service research project, which gives us access to patrol cabins. All the shelter gear save the insulated poncho will in those cases be left behind in favor of luxury food and many pounds of research gear (motion capture cameras, frozen chickens, tools, etc). Often, like this past weekend, this ends up meaning a 28 pound pack for an overnight, at least until we got the bait stations set up. Good training.

Comments and questions welcome.

Andrew U
(anarkhos) - M

Locale: Colorado, Wyoming
Wood Splitting, Clearing on 01/23/2013 06:49:43 MST Print View