Forum Index » Photography » Reccomend a camera for me. Quick please ;)

Display Avatars Sort By:
michael levi
(M.L) - F

Locale: W-Never Eat Soggy (W)affles
Reccomend a camera for me. Quick please ;) on 01/17/2013 19:22:01 MST Print View

Im actually taking a digital photography class and need to buy something this weekend. So most likley it needs to be a common model found in stores. I dont really care if its DSLR because I am a huge noob so as long as the camera is capable of high end shots...

I'd like a return policy if things dont work out, and my budget is around $450, but honestly If I can spend $150 -200 then that would be better. Also, it would be nice if It was light enough for backpacking, but mainly its for this class.

Bob Gross
(--B.G.--) - F

Locale: Silicon Valley
Re: Recommend a camera for me. Quick please ;) on 01/17/2013 19:30:32 MST Print View

If you are taking a digital photography class, then ask the instructor what kind of camera is recommended. Many instructors are very specific, even if your requirements are vague ("capable of high end shots").

--B.G.--

Edited by --B.G.-- on 01/17/2013 19:31:17 MST.

michael levi
(M.L) - F

re on 01/17/2013 19:32:31 MST Print View

It depends, because not all students can afford high end DSLR's which is what he wants.

Just start naming cameras guys, please. I need to buy something tomorrow...

Chris W
(simplespirit) - MLife

Locale: WNC
Re: re on 01/17/2013 19:34:34 MST Print View

Cheap, high quality, and you can grow with it....I'd go Nikon D3100 or Nikon D5100 (better but a bit more money).

michael levi
(M.L) - F

nik on 01/17/2013 19:59:29 MST Print View

That Nikon seems reasonable, should I bite the bullet and go DSLR then? What about decent point and shoots? Is there such a thing?

Jeremy B.
(requiem) - F - M

Locale: Northern California
Re: Reccomend a camera for me. Quick please ;) on 01/17/2013 20:06:27 MST Print View

as long as the camera is capable of high end shots...