Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
Is 600-650 down worth it?
Display Avatars Sort By:
Phillip Asby
(PGAsby) - M

Locale: North Carolina
Is 600-650 down worth it? on 01/03/2013 11:37:51 MST Print View

I have a 40 degree Marmot Aspen ultralight bag for spring early fall trips which is fantastic mostly due to being light and packing really small (and I got it for a really good price).

I have an REI Lumen 25 for shoulder season and in our case southern winter trips - which is a fine bag albeit a bit dicey into the low 30s (with midweight base layers, socks and a thin helmet liner - I can add some more clothing to the equation and get into the mid 20s I believe which in NC where I'm camping with scouts is typically as cold as it will get on average) ... and it is not very compact. I have been pondering a down 15 or 20 degree bag but my budget won't support a WM or the like - really need to be $200 or below which more or less means 600-650 down.

So the question is whether it is worth it to go with down in a lower temp bag at with that budget? Weight wise a Kelty Cosmic down weighs as much as my REI or a NF Cats Meow (I believe) - so the question is whether they compact down any better? Based on specs I'm not sure they do really so I'm wondering if I ought to just stick with a synthetic bag for those temps given my budget limits...

George Davis
(nsiderbam) - F - M

Locale: mid-Atlantic
Re: Is 600-650 down worth it? on 01/03/2013 12:05:07 MST Print View

At first I didn't realize that you neededa 15-20 degree bag and was going to suggest a number of affordable 30-40 degree down bags with high-loft down. I honestly can't think of any colder bags in your price range that wouldn't sacrifice weight and quality, though.

However, I'm pretty sure that the 20 degree Kelty will pack down smaller than any synthetic bag you have. I'd also check out the North Face Aleutian 3S -- it's a few ounces lighter and can be had for under $200.