Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
Snow Peak Pot Rust
Display Avatars Sort By:
Addison Page
(Nihilist_Voyager) - F

Locale: Down the Rabbit Hole!
Snow Peak Pot Rust on 11/27/2012 18:25:59 MST Print View

Sooo i kinda did a dumb- well, I had a "learning experience" the other day. I set my Ti pot on to boil and when I check it about five minutes later, I realize i stupidly forgot to put water in the pot!! Rookie mistake. Well ok, I'm a rookie.

Anyway, the outside is torched, though I'm not one for looks. What worries me is the inside being similarly messed up, and what appears to be rust or something at the bottom on one edge that I can't scrub away.

What to do? Keep or trash? Also is it safe to steel wool the rusty part away?

Chris C
(cvcass) - MLife

Locale: State of Jefferson
not rust on 11/28/2012 10:49:43 MST Print View

You said it was a Ti pot right, it is oxidation similar to rust but totally inert. Unless it is flaky I would leave it, it adds character.

Ben H.
(bzhayes) - F

Locale: So. California
ohhhh... rust not roast on 11/28/2012 12:57:20 MST Print View

Darn I thought this would be a thread on cooking pot roast in your snow peak. I guess that explains why this thread isn't in the food section.

Anyway, I agree with above, it is oxidation which would be called rust if it were iron. If it hasn't compromised the integrity of the pot, then you don't really have anything to worry about. You should be able to clean it off with steel wool. Ignore that advice if the inside of the pot has a non-stick coating. In that case you have compromised the coating and will be eating and burning flakes of it. Teflon is not good for and I wouldn't use it anymore.

Gary Dunckel
(Zia-Grill-Guy) - MLife

Locale: Boulder
Titanium dioxide on 11/28/2012 13:32:49 MST Print View