Colorado Gear List for Mount Elbert in December 2012.
Display Avatars Sort By:
Nate Boyer
(NateB123) - F - MLife
Colorado Gear List for Mount Elbert in December 2012. on 11/03/2012 10:45:42 MDT Print View

This is a very rough, preliminary list for my trip to Mount Elbert. I plan on experimenting with gear throughout November. I'm somewhat new to winter camping and snow-shoeing. I'm going with an experienced group.

I obviously have not listed all of my clothing items yet. I did list most of the packable clothing.

Some things I'm still thinking about:

-Will my Asolo boots be sufficient in this weather for snoe-shoeing?
-If they are okay, what about at camp? I'm debating getting down booties.
-I need to purchase gators.
-What about puffy pants for at camp?
-I'm thinking my jet-boil will be useless in these temps and this altitude. I'm considering building an alcohol stove for the first time.
-Do I bring my weather radio? 8.2 oz.

My base weight is usually about 11.5 lbs for late fall trips. It has gone up significantly.

http://www.geargrams.com/list?id=10115

Thanks for helping!

P.S. This is my first trip to Mount Elbert. I'd love some tips from some of you who have been there.

Edited by NateB123 on 11/03/2012 10:51:46 MDT.

Raquel Rascal
(flutingaround)

Locale: Rocky Mtn. West
cool on 11/03/2012 11:14:06 MDT Print View

this is a topic I can dig into because I just got back from a gear test trip on Quandary in which the temps were down to 5* at night with 30 MPH winds. Making it freakin' cold.

The biggest suggestion I have is to get out with your gear as much as possible in the coldest and windiest conditions you can before Elbert.

I had several pieces of gear fail for me on my trip-