Forum Index » Make Your Own Gear » I would like to make a cuben packraft

Display Avatars Sort By:
Gregory Nelson
(Greginhawaii)
I would like to make a cuben packraft on 10/31/2012 13:24:10 MDT Print View

Has anyone made a Cuben fiber raft? I could use some assistance with cuben glues? Would double sided tape be sufficient for a packraft or would you need glue? If so what kind? I looked into valves and don't know if I would be better off with a Summit 2 or a Thermarest air mattress valve? Does anyone know where to get a pattern?

Luke Schmidt
(Cameron) - MLife

Locale: The WOODS
Think about this first on 10/31/2012 13:28:53 MDT Print View

I am no expert on cuben but here is what I know.

1. It is very tear resistant
2. It is much less resistant to punctures and abrasion damage.

For these reasons I would argue that a cuben packfraft would have limited utility while being very expensive and difficult to make.

Adrian MITCHELL
(adie.mitchell)

Locale: Northwest Mass
Re: Think about this first on 10/31/2012 14:07:57 MDT Print View

I second that....doesnt mean I wouldnt want to see one... :)

Dale Wambaugh
(dwambaugh) - MLife

Locale: Pacific Northwest
Re: I would like to make a cuben packraft on 10/31/2012 14:10:19 MDT Print View

A Cuben kayak would be interesting too, if you can get it to stick.

Ben Crocker
(alexdrewreed) - M

Locale: Kentucky
Cuben raft on 10/31/2012 14:52:51 MDT Print View

Interesting idea. The highest abrasion areas are on the bottom surface. You could pretty easily reinforce that with a higher abrasion material. It could result in a pretty lightweight raft/kayak.

Edited by alexdrewreed on 10/31/2012 14:59:18 MDT.

Colin Krusor
(ckrusor) - M

Locale: Northwest US
Cuben raft on 10/31/2012 15:40:16 MDT Print View