Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
Black Friday / Cyber Monday
Display Avatars Sort By:
Raquel Rascal
(flutingaround)

Locale: Rocky Mtn. West
Black Friday / Cyber Monday on 10/19/2012 02:27:37 MDT Print View

I'm thinking ahead to my November / holiday budget, and anticipating the great American tradition of Black Friday! But, this is my first year approaching it as a newly converted light packer. Do any of you experienced BPLers have some tips or things to watch for over the holiday season to catch some screaming deals?

Ryan Smith
(ViolentGreen) - F

Locale: Southeast
Re: Black Friday / Cyber Monday on 10/19/2012 16:11:56 MDT Print View

Raquel,

Most of the UL cottage guys and the more traditional REI-type stores will all have some sort of deals going. Be sure to check those usual suspects. I bet GoLite will have some screaming deals. Most of the sales will also be posted in Gear Deals by BPL members so it's pretty easy to keep up with them that way. Keep in mind though, you may have to act fast before the inventory runs out. Happy hunting.

Ryan

Edited by ViolentGreen on 10/19/2012 16:12:29 MDT.

Dustin Short
(upalachango) - MLife
Re: Re: Black Friday / Cyber Monday on 10/19/2012 20:22:22 MDT Print View

Backcountry.com will likely have a deep discounts on their gear. Also REI stores will give away gift cards to the first X number of customers in the morning (not sure if all stores, but my local AZ ones definitely do this). Those giftcards range anywhere from $5 to $100.

Stephen Bodiya
(stephen@bodiya.com) - F

Locale: Michigan
Cyber Monday Moosejaw Points on 10/20/2012 15:45:50 MDT Print View

Moosejaw.com has had 5x reward points (basically 50% that you can spend on Moosejaw.com/rewards) on Cyber Monday for the past few years. I'm not sure if it's safe to assume they will do it again, but it is a great opportunity if you know there are some things you'd like.