Water treatment thoughts
Display Avatars Sort By:
Harrison Carpenter
(carpenh) - M

Locale: St. Vrain River Valley
Water treatment thoughts on 09/03/2012 10:09:47 MDT Print View

I'm going back and forth these days between relying upon my Steripen (the Adventurer Opti model) and AquaMira. Pardon me while I share my thoughts, in writing, with you all. (I write for a living, so I do this all the time.)

I know that using a chemical treatment saves pack weight, so that's one of its merits. When I've gone out onto the trails with AquaMira, I've taken two full 20 oz bottles of water from home with me to the trailhead. I drink all the water in one bottle before I stop to refill it, then after refilling it and treating the new water, I set the treated water aside while I drink out of the second bottle of water from home. This two-bottle approach gives my newly treated water anywhere from 60-120 minutes to work before I even take one sip.

Yet the last time I went out, I came down with giardiasis. Not fun, as I'm sure you're aware. My hypothesis is that 1) I failed to "bleed" the bottles well enough to eliminate all the remaining untreated water from the bottles' mouths. The competing hypotheses, of course, are that 2) I needed to wait longer after first treating the new water, or 3) I needed a more effective pre-filtration method to eliminate cysts/protozoa from the new water, or 4) a combination of any/all of the three competing hypotheses. Regardless, it's made me start wondering about my ability to use AquaMira.