Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
2-Person Shelters TSW - Looking for feedback for my next in-depth article!
Display Avatars Sort By:
John Abela
(JohnAbela) - MLife
2-Person Shelters TSW - Looking for feedback for my next in-depth article! on 08/28/2012 18:18:36 MDT Print View

Hey Hikers,

This goes out to all of you who share your shelters with somebody else!

Since my very in-depth review of the lightest fully enclosed solo shelters I have continued to get requests from hikers asking me if I had done, or was planning to do, a chart that was for 2-person shelters.

I have not yet done one and I have planned to do one.

Problem is, I have no experience with 2-person shelters... so I have one very important question that I need help with:

What max-weight (TSW) limit should I place for my research?

(TSW = total shelter weight == shelter, stakes, stuff sacks, poles, ground cloths, etcetc)

For my solo shelter chart I placed the limit pretty low at 20-ounces TSW. This was beneficial because it kept the list/chart rather small and helped to truly highlight the lightest of the lightest solo fully enclosed shelters on the market.

For the 2-person shelters I was wanting to place a 907 gram (2 pound) limit on these, but that would exclude shelters such as the TarpTent Rainbow 2, which seems to have a huge following. This leads me to wonder if I should place the max TSW at 1360 grams (3 pounds) - or if I should stick with the 2-pound mark and once again focus only on the truly lightest of the lightest (ie: zpacks hexamid twin at 408 grams / mld duomid/inner at 827 grams - both under two pounds).

It is my hope to have this article and chart finished up by November so that it can be ready in time for Christmas for birthday gifts (hint hint) for those doing thru-hikes in 2013!

If you want to share with me in private any thoughts I welcome you to contact me here.

Thank you to anybody who takes the time to share their thoughts!

M B