Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
Health Care Subrogation: The New Standard?
Display Avatars Sort By:
Craig W.
(xnomanx) - F - M
Health Care Subrogation: The New Standard? on 08/26/2012 12:55:45 MDT Print View

My 9 year old daughter is playing with friends. They're roughhousing, and as I watch, she falls, hitting the back of her head on concrete. As a former EMT, I saw signs of a potential concussion- confusion, dizziness, etc. So I take her to emergency. By the time we reach the hospital, I can see she's fine, but we wait for a doctor anyway. Our doctor's visit lasts all of two minutes before they say they think she's fine as well. I agree, denying further tests, and we go home. All is well. It's kids being kids and stuff happens.

Within a few weeks I receive a letter from a company called the Rawlings Group, a health care subrogation firm. It is a page long questionnaire asking if we have contacted a personal injury lawyer, who's property the accident happened on, if we will be pressing charges, is it work related, all sorts of information about the accident...I ignore the letter, not knowing if it's legitimately connected to my health care (Kaiser).

Then another comes.

Then another, now from Kaiser, claiming I am breaching the terms of my health care agreement by not providing this information to Rawlings.

So I look into all this further. It seems Kaiser now immediately turns cases over to Rawlings, who then goes on to try and recoup money from another party for Kaiser. AKA: Looking for someone to sue.

This whole deal makes me sick.

My wife recently went to the doctor, trying to figure out some sciatica-like pain she was having. Rawlings is now contacting us about her visit, with the same form to fill out- did this happen on someone else's property etc.

Now I'm really getting sick.
It seems the whole world is now out to sue somebody.