Forum Index » General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion » Central Andes: Peru, Bolivia, Ecuador

Display Avatars Sort By:
Brad Abrahams
(frigger)
Central Andes: Peru, Bolivia, Ecuador on 08/24/2012 11:00:31 MDT Print View

Greetings everyone,

I am planning a few trips in the central Andes region in the near future. Looking for 3-10 day treks that won't be crowded. Nothing ridiculously intense or freezing cold, but challenging enough. Also interested in the culture of the area, specifically the Q'ero peoples.

I have the old LP book "Trekking the Central Andes" that is a good start.

Does anyone have experience in this region that could give me some guidance?

Thanks!
Brad

Brad Abrahams
(frigger)
Re: Central Andes: Peru, Bolivia, Ecuador on 09/02/2012 08:10:50 MDT Print View

Friendly Bump. Would also appreciate any insight into hiking Chile as well.

Marla Beringer
(masanella) - M
Huayhuash on 09/02/2012 10:35:43 MDT Print View

Although I have a lot of experience doing long hikes on my own in Europe and USA, I don't have any experience with unguided treks in the Andes .

But I did hike the (circular) trek in the Cordillera Huayhuash with guides and I know it's a trek that can be done alone too. It's a beautiful trek and not crowded at all. I think it can be done in 9 days (there are several options for the route).

The Lonely Planet must mention this one too and otherwise I'm sure you can find it on the internet.

Some important info and some warnings you can find here:
http://www.besthike.com/southamerica/peru/huayhuash.html

And look at these incredible photos from Tom Dempsey of the Cordillera Huayhuash:
http://photoseek.photoshelter.com/gallery/PERU-Cordillera-Huayhuash-Trek/G0000tUzyi5aJJxI/C0000ONbbqof0WYE

Marla

Edited by masanella on 09/02/2012 10:43:38 MDT.

Brad Abrahams
(frigger)
Re: Huayhuash on 09/03/2012 08:31:47 MDT Print View

Thanks Melissa, this is definitely on my list. How's the route-finding on this trek? Is the trail easy to follow?