Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
New Cameras!
Display Avatars Sort By:
Nick G
(HermesUL) - F
New Cameras! on 08/22/2012 11:10:50 MDT Print View

Nikon has just announced a couple new cameras that look highly of interest to me in terms of backpacking light.

I've stopped using a camera until I can get one that's worth the weight. My cell phone camera is poor quality, but its what I'm using.

Firstly, the ultralight camera: Coolpix S01
http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/coolpix/style/s01/spec.htm

A super cool 96g/3.4 oz compact camera that looks to be pretty good quality in terms of pictures (although I'm not an expert). Cost is supposed to be about $180.

Secondly, a camera with wifi and GPS:
http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/coolpix/style/s800c/

For $350 and 184g/6.5 oz, this one weighs twice as much and costs twice as much. Where it might save you weight comes in terms of the fact that it has GPS included, and wifi (if you're near a hotspot).

I've got no idea how these compare to a smartphone or whatever alternatives are otherwise out there--but I know that I'm interested in buying an inexpensive device that will do better than my phone.

What do you guys use?

Devon Cloud
(devoncloud)

Locale: Southwest
this is one area where weight comes second for me on 08/22/2012 11:29:28 MDT Print View

Call me a picture snob, but I take my DSLR camera with me despite the weight issue. I guess I just figure that while I am going to some of the most gorgeous areas left on our planet, I don't want to skimp on the quality of the pics or my options while taking said pics.

You are on the right company though... in terms of being light weight and being dependable, nikon offers the best options in both the point and shoot world and the DSLR in my humble opinion of course. My issue is I have thousands of dollars into cannon, and there is nothing light about cannon whatsoever (I purchased all of this prior to becoming a gram weenie).