floppy top on G4 pack
Display Avatars Sort By:
Ben Crowell
(bcrowell) - F

Locale: Southern California
floppy top on G4 pack on 07/19/2012 12:53:00 MDT Print View

I've been using a Gossamer Gear G4 for several years now, and have been fairly happy with it. But there's a problem that keeps coming up now and then, which is that the extension collar flops over. Sometimes it flops to the side, more often backward. When it bends backward, it makes it really miserable to hike with it, because gravity makes a ton of torque on it, and my shoulders get pulled on really hard.

AFAIK the standard advice about UL packs is that if they're not rigid enough, you try to increase the volume of the stuff inside, e.g., by leaving your sleeping bag out of its stuff sack. However, I seem to be getting the problem when the pack is crammed full anyway.

One expedient that seems to help a little is to take a short cord and tie it with a tautline hitch from the drawstring that closes the top hole running down to the buckle inside the haul strap. This may help a little, but doesn't entirely fix the problem. I doubt that the top lashing strap would help, although maybe I should try it and see.

The usual arrangement of my stuff is that my Garcia bear canister is upright on the bottom, with clothes and tarp crammed in next to it. On top of that I have other clothes, ditty bags, and my sleeping bag. On hikes where the Garcia is needed, everything is typically so tight that even with the sleeping bag in its stuff sack, I can just barely cram everything in.

Putting the sleeping bag in vertically does seem to help a little bit, but not enough; it mainly seems to make the extension collar more likely to flop to the side rather than to the back. I've also experimented with putting the sleeping bag horizontally at the very top, or horizontally lower down.

Any suggestions?