Forum Index » Make Your Own Gear » Transferring pattern with Cad program?

Display Avatars Sort By:
Jonathan Jessop
(Jonathan_Jessop)
Transferring pattern with Cad program? on 07/17/2012 11:28:17 MDT Print View

I'm new to sewing and I've never used a cad program before. I'm trying to go through the five yards to SUL articles but I'm lost on how to actually transfer the pattern from the computer to measuring it onto fabric. I downloaded the recommended free cad program but I'm unsure on how to proceed from there. The article mentions using the software's measuring tool. Anyone familiar with this?

jerry adams
(retiredjerry) - MLife

Locale: Oregon and Washington
Re: Transferring pattern with Cad program? on 07/17/2012 11:35:15 MDT Print View

All the pieces are rectangles with a few straight angled lines

You could just measure it

Don't really need a pattern unless you're like doing clothes with curved lines

Kevin Beeden
(captain_paranoia) - F

Locale: UK
Re: Transferring pattern with Cad program? on 07/18/2012 10:59:21 MDT Print View

What's the 'free CAD program'? Is it Google's SketchUp? If so (and it's a very good choice), learn how to use it...

SketchUp allows you to 'dimension' the drawing; to show the distance between two points, e.g. the ends of a line. In the menu bar, the dimension tool has an example dimension image (with a figure '3'). Just hover the mouse over each tool icon until the little pop-up "what's this" box says 'Dimension'.

Then simply select the line you want to measure (mouse click), and drag the mouse away from the line. This will drag the dimension away from the line, so you can see it clearly.

Alternatively, you can use the right-click 'Entity Info' dialogue to find line lengths, and areas of shapes.

You can use the Protractor tool to measure angles.

Tim Zen
(asdzxc57) - F

Locale: MI
Re: Re: Transferring pattern with Cad program? on 07/18/2012 13:39:27 MDT Print View

Print to PDF full size. Print at kinko on 36 in wide paper.