Forum Index » Chaff » longboard 101

Display Avatars Sort By:
Leslie Thurston
(lesler) - F

Locale: right here, right now
longboard 101 on 07/03/2012 14:40:26 MDT Print View

every year since turning 30, i've vowed to uptake a new pursuit.
longboarding, so it is!
tried to sk8board back in the day, kid stuff!, but it's been eons.
i haven't any health insurance, but tons of patience and tenacity (does that count)?
and decent balance (i practically wore skates before shoes), so me thinks
this is reaching for apples, and not for the sky?
i've seen some on craigslist for ~50 beans, but what's considered decent quality?
i'm sure not all trucks are created equal, and ummm...can i skate in chacos?
need i purchase vans or the like?
bring it, anything and everything!
thanks kids.

Terry Trimble
(socal-nomad) - F

Locale: North San Diego county
longboard 101 on 07/04/2012 12:39:41 MDT Print View

Leslie,
I have been skateboarding since 10 years old and I am 50 years old. I started on clay wheel and have been through every evolution of skateboards,
I have skated flat,downhill,slalom,Freestyle,street,backyard pools,parks,Even the 22 foot pipes they used to build San Onofre Nuclear power plant you name it I have skated it.

I excelled at raced slalom, freestyle,all around skateboarder as a sponsored amateur and turned pro to get out my Sponsor were Kryptonics wheels, Vans shoes, Cutter trucks and on and off the Tracker truck flow list.
I also owned my own board company called FU skatez of aka: Freestyle underground it was charity board company to sponsor freestyle skateboarders who lost their board sponsors,When the manufactures killed freestyle skateboarding and quit making freestyle boards.. I was also the Head judge and vice president of CASL.

Basically stay away from the cheap board packages from Craig's list and ebay the product is crappy product. You have to figure out how you want to skateboard is it for getting around town, exercise,downhill, pool and park riding,