Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
Modular Waterproof Solar Panel System
Display Avatars Sort By:
Matthew Naylor
(mrnlegato)

Locale: Mid-Atlantic
Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: troubleshooting on 05/31/2012 13:13:26 MDT Print View

Is there a special technique for applying heatshrink on T-shaped (3-way) splices?

What don't you like about the liquid electrical tape (said as a complete novice)? I've certainly noticed the messiness, difficulty of removal, and apparent difficulty in providing complete insulation.

Bob Gross
(--B.G.--) - F

Locale: Silicon Valley
Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: troubleshooting on 05/31/2012 13:29:24 MDT Print View

Twist the three wire ends together, solder, and then apply the heatshrink over the single end.

Liquid electrical tape isn't much good except for the case where you can barely reach the spot with one hand, so you just paint the stuff on as best you reach. For any normal project on a work bench, there are many better electrical insulators like heatshrink, tape, and fish paper.

--B.G.--

Matthew Naylor
(mrnlegato)

Re: Voltage drop on 06/06/2012 09:00:50 MDT Print View

I have the two LX2400s, and will be installing them in the next few days. I fixed my wiring, and the panels seem to be OK (despite fearing shorting them with bad wiring, or burning one of them out without the diodes...), although /i haven't seen them produce the peak 400mA total; they're at something like 340mA in full sun.

I do have a question though; if I wanted to experiment with the cheaper Schottkey diodes--this is after all just a big experiment--which kind should I get? These?:
BAT54: 30 V Schottky Diode
http://www.onsemi.com/PowerSolutions/product.do?id=BAT54
NSR0230: 30 V, 0.2 A Low VF Schottky Diode
http://www.onsemi.com/PowerSolutions/product.do?id=NSR0230

Thanks

Matthew Naylor
(mrnlegato)

Re: Re: Goal Zero / backup batteries on 06/06/2012 09:06:44 MDT Print View