Financing the UL lifestyle
Display Avatars Sort By:
James Hou
(JamesH) - F
Financing the UL lifestyle on 04/28/2012 20:15:54 MDT Print View

I've looked through about 30 pages of old postings, so I know that there are quite a few grad students out there. (I'm one myself.) But, what about you others? It's not just about affording the gear, but also being able to take time off from work to hike. I'm only getting out on weekend hikes about 3 or 4 times a year. I don't know how you others can work in anything more, much less thru hikes.

What do you DO? What careers offer that kind of flexibility, while still paying enough that you're not just some ski bum? (No offense to the ski bums.)

I'm a student in New Orleans now, so I know geography works against me. But, surely not everyone lives in PNW or SW. Even when I was active duty stationed in Kentucky, with the Smokies 4 hours away, I still only made it out there a handful of times a year.

Edited by JamesH on 04/28/2012 20:16:43 MDT.

Mike M
(mtwarden) - MLife

Locale: Montana
career on 04/28/2012 20:27:27 MDT Print View

I happened to pick a career that requires me to spend time in the backcountry- that gives me several trips a year; the rest of my trips I do with my better half :)

Emil Gazda
(Emilio)

Locale: Southeast
career on 04/28/2012 20:44:17 MDT Print View

I'm only able to get in a short overnight once month. I usually can squeeze in a two or three night trip every few months or so if I'm lucky. The only reason I can spend that much time out is because the trail head is only 2.5 miles out my front door. I'm very lucky that my family lets me indulge that much.

HK Newman
(hknewman) - MLife

Locale: Western US
Re: Financing the UL lifestyle on 04/28/2012 20:57:55 MDT Print View