Forum Index » General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion » Giardia Outbreak

Display Avatars Sort By:
mitchell Keil
(mkeil)

Locale: Surf City
Giardia Outbreak on 04/23/2012 10:28:25 MDT Print View

Ok Community. I need some feedback. I came down with Giardia the first week of March and did not realize that's what it was until about a week ago when I had the stool test done. What a surprise to me! I have been backpacking for more than 35 years and have never once had a case of Giardia. I am extremely careful to treat my water with the Cholrine Dioxide pills and to boil my cooking water. The stream from which I got it(apparently) has always been a source of fast running water. When my wife told her sister about my experience,her sister told her that both of her dogs had gotten it too and that the Vet told her that he has seen an explosion of Giardia in animals. Later I found the same response from another Vet we know, locally.
Anyone haver annecdotal evidence of an upswing in the Giardia in their area? Any comments of this uptick in contamination? My wife's sister lives in Marin above San Francisco and we live in Orange County Ca which is Southern CA. ALso called a friend who lives out in Riverside and owns a horse ranch. She says her Vet said the same thing.

Don Amundson
(amrowinc) - M

Locale: Southern California
Giardia on 04/23/2012 10:35:15 MDT Print View

Like you Mitchell, I've never been infected with Giardia and I rarely treat my water. Where was the stream you think was the source? I backpack in So. Calif. so I have a vested interest.

Edited by amrowinc on 11/16/2013 11:59:10 MST.

Stephan Doyle
(StephanCal)
Re: Giardia Outbreak on 04/23/2012 10:42:38 MDT Print View

Studies have shown backcountry water sources (specifically ones we consider good) carry only a small portion of our giardia risk. Washing your hands (or, more precisely, the other members of your backcountry party washing their hands) mitigates a risk significantly more hazardous.