WTB: sewing machine
Display Avatars Sort By:
James Reilly
(zippymorocco)

Locale: Montana
WTB: sewing machine on 04/04/2012 12:45:21 MDT Print View

Maybe you just upgraded your machine for spring and have an extra for sale. I am just beginning MYOG and am searching for an appropriate machine. Thanks

John Arwood
(johnlarwood)

Locale: Mountians of East Tennessee
WTB: sewing machine on 04/04/2012 13:58:03 MDT Print View

James,

Have you shopped locally yet?
A good sewing machine will be heavy & expensive to ship.
I would suggest finding a sewing machine repairperson/technician within driving or public transit distance. Someone who has been at it for awhile & might have an old Pfaff or other high quality machine, that can be repaired or tuned up specifically for your needs. Just a basic machine. Straight stitch & zig-zag. Maybe scratched up, to keep the cost down. Let them know what type of sewing you will be doing. Take some scrap material similar to what you might be working with, light stuff, maybe some heavy stuff & the type of thread you might use. You might just find a winner at a resonable price.
If you do find such a machine, hopefully the technician will take the time to let you try it out, suggest needle type/size, show you how to do regular cleanings & basic adjustments. Also consider if you want a cabinet, they may have a good old scratched up one around. Although, you might be better off with a machine in a portable box & using a large table to work on. Buffet tables are good.
If you encounter a high pressure sales person, I suggest you look elsewhere.

Hope this helps,
John

Edited by johnlarwood on 04/04/2012 14:00:38 MDT.

James Reilly
(zippymorocco)

my visit to Bob's sew av vac on 04/04/2012 16:29:25 MDT Print View

John,