Sleeping Pad R-value
Display Avatars Sort By:
Bob Gross
(--B.G.--) - F

Locale: Silicon Valley
Sleeping Pad R-value on 04/04/2012 12:16:07 MDT Print View

I've been using the same 32*F down sleeping bag for several years, and I generally used it with just a few pieces of generic blue foam, typically about three squares of 1/4" or 3/8". That is comfortable enough for me until the temperature dips below about 30-32*F. So, the rating of the sleeping bag seemed reasonable, and the foam padding was adequate.

Lately I purchased a new down sleeping bag rated for 30*F. However, it is no official rating, only the estimate by the manufacturer, so I don't know how much to trust it. In order for that temperature rating to be fair, it requires a thermally-neutral sleeping pad, and I am thinking that my old pad arrangement may not meet that. Of course, that might make the sleeping bag seem cold.

The question is: How much R-value do I need in a foam sleeping pad?

This is for summer use, but the temperature might drop below 30*F. I have down garments that I can use to get through the cold night, but I am trying to focus just on the pad R-value. I'm thinking maybe R=2.

--B.G.--

jerry adams
(retiredjerry) - MLife

Locale: Oregon and Washington
Re: Sleeping Pad R-value on 04/04/2012 13:22:03 MDT Print View

There it is again, the term "thermally-neutral". What is that?

The colder it is, the more insulation you need, there's no point where you reach neutrality???

To answer your question, pads like Prolite (R = 2) or Neo-Air (R = 3) are supposed to be good above freezing or so, but much below that, or if sleeping on snow you need something more.

Bob Gross
(--B.G.--) - F

Re: Re: Sleeping Pad R-value on 04/04/2012 13:39:14 MDT Print View