opinions on different types of shelters.
Display Avatars Sort By:
Skylar Ruloff
(skylar.ruloff) - F

Locale: north east
opinions on different types of shelters. on 03/28/2012 17:28:24 MDT Print View

I'm new to ultralight backpacking and I'm looking to get a shelter, but I don't know what kind. At first I thought about a single person stake-down tent, but then I heard about free-standing tents. I thought they were cool until I found out they are heavier and can blow away. then I was thinking about a bivy and tarp but it seems like it would suck if there was any bad weather at all. Any opinions on this subject? I'm also looking to not spend a ton of money. I think the absolute max I could go for is $200 because I still need to buy a pack after this.

Edwin Morse
(slosteppin) - F
My opinion on shelters on 03/28/2012 17:45:57 MDT Print View

In my opinion a light weight tent well staked down is a good choice. There are also several hammocks you could get in your price range. I really like my hammock in rainy weather.

to get the best answer you should consider both the weather and the terrain where you will hike. No trees and very cold would make a hammock not a good choice.

A tent can be used almost anywhere.

Stephan Doyle
(StephanCal)
Re: opinions on different types of shelters. on 03/28/2012 17:46:20 MDT Print View

Personal preference and condition-depedent.

There's no "best" and you'll find advocates of all shelter types here.

Skylar Ruloff
(skylar.ruloff) - F

Locale: north east
Re: opinions on different types of shelters. on 03/28/2012 17:47:46 MDT Print View

just wanted to add that I won't be using hiking poles. Also, i live in the new jersey/pennsylvania area so there are cold winters and hot summers.

Chad Anderson
(kiddzoso)

Locale: N. California
Re: opinions on different types of shelters. on 03/28/2012 17:56:29 MDT Print View

For a couple quick hits:
I would recommend TarpTents, a couple of which are at the high-end of your price range: