Cheap sleeping bag with lots of fill? (for modifying)
Display Avatars Sort By:
Peter Eriksson
(colorblend) - F
Cheap sleeping bag with lots of fill? (for modifying) on 03/27/2012 12:00:09 MDT Print View

Hello all. I am becoming interested in making/modifying my own gear and would like to try experimenting with different kinds of fill in a sleeping bag. I have looked at some DIY write-ups on how to sew bags but I am not very good with the thread and needle so it might be a problem when it comes to baffles and such. So I thought: why not just get a proper sleeping bag and replace the filling?

So what I am looking for is really a cheap bag, since I will start out by violating it with scissors and needles. I would like it to be a winter bag with plenty of volume so as to accomodate whatever I fill it with.

Any tips? Nice forum by the way, you will probably see more of me.

Addison Page
(Nihilist_Voyager) - F

Locale: Down the Rabbit Hole!
Best Bet on 03/27/2012 13:10:10 MDT Print View

Cheap Coleman 0*-30* bag from Walmart will probably be your best bet. Not only are they cheap (sub-$100) but the baffles will be large to accommodate that cheap incompressible fill, and the shell materials are sturdy enough to take a beating from constant modifying.

Welcome to the forum!

Nick E.
(trAletrasch) - F

Locale: PNW
welcome on 03/28/2012 09:33:20 MDT Print View

welcome to the forums
i, too, am thinking of doing the same thing. i dont have a sewing machine and wont by the time i start hiking, plus i'd like to get the feel of working with down before i start making my quilts from scratch.
i am looking at the REI Siesta, its on clearance for less than 50 bucks on rei outlet right now.
a wally world or similar bag would be great too.
i'll post pics soon.

Peter Eriksson
(colorblend) - F
Videos on 03/29/2012 18:10:25 MDT Print View